In commemoration of the MVZ’s 75th Anniversary in 1983, the Joseph Grinnell Medal is awarded twice a decade to researchers who exemplify the traits that Grinnell himself embodied: a commitment to natural history research and a scientific creativity to describe new concepts.



George Bartholomew,

Jim Brown,

David Wake, 1998

Peter and Rosemary Grant,

Michael Ryan, 2008

Bob Ricklefs, 2015